Try a Tri and Super Sprint
 The club hosted its annual Try a Tri and Super Sprint Triathlons on Sunday and it was a huge success. Triathlon has become extremely popular in the last few years so it was no surprise the race was a sell- out! 126 competitors took to the start line at the Aura Leisure Centre- 66 taking on their first triathlon in the Try a Tri event with a further 60 participants battling it out in the Super Sprint event. Conditions were perfect on the day and the course was a 200m (Try a tri) or 400m (Super sprint) swim followed by a 13k cycle and a 3.5k run.
Try a Tri
24/7 dominated the podium in the Try a Tri event with first, second and third place going to club members. Shaun McDevitt was the overall winner in a superb time of 38:35. Stephen Robinson was in 2nd place in a time of 39:37 with Michael Russell just five seconds behind in 3rd.
LAC’s Shauna McGeehan was the first female to cross the finish line in the try a tri in a time 44:24, with Sheena O’Neill in second place in 45:24 with Sinead Peoples 3rd in a time of 47minutes.
Super Sprint
Luke McCarron from North West Tri Club was the winner of the Super Sprint event in a very impressive time of 36:51. Just 9 seconds was the difference between him and Carsten Herboth who finished in 2nd place with Emmet Mullan -another North-West Tri club member- third place in a time of 37:07.
Aoife Wilson from Derry’s North West Triathlon Club was the first female in a time of 43:09 with
Shauna McFadden in second place in 47:55. Junior 24/7 member Eadaoin Kelly was third female in a time of 49:15-Eadaoin with an outstanding swim time of 05:41 for the 400m.
There were impressive performances from all 24/7 members over the weekend; a successful triathlon season awaits many! Congratulations to all club members who took part. Gartan race Director Liam Tinney is expecting a flurry of entries from members in the coming days. Don’t forget the special early bird price for Club members is only available until May 15th- you have been warned!
A special word of congratulations to all the first-time participants on achieving their first triathlon event. We look forward to seeing you race in Gartan in July.
The club wishes to thank Aura Leisure Centre, our main event sponsors, all our club sponsors and St. Eunan’s GAA club for the use of O’ Donnell Park on Sunday. A huge amount of work and organization goes into making our club races successful but Race Director Paul Dillon, ably assisted by his race committee and team of marshals and volunteers ensured the event ran smoothly. Thanks to everyone who gave up their time to help in any way- it is only with your help that we as a club can run such successful events.
Yeats County Grand Prix
Junior member U14 Ciaran McGettigan travelled to Carraroe, Sligo on Saturday to the inaugural Yeats County Grand Prix Cycle Race. Ciaran had 4 laps of a 6.5km circuit to complete with one nasty hill climb each lap to contend with. Ciaran sprinted well and finished in an impressive 2nd place.
5k Roundup
Peter O’Donnell and Anthony Sweeney raced in Milford’s 5k on Friday- Peter with a time of 18:03 and Anthony in 18:43. Adrian Callaghan raced in the Ardraven 5k series and finished in 19:46.
The April-June swim payment of 80 for those who prepay for the year is now overdue.
Club Training
Club training continues as follows:
Tuesday:  Track session- 7.45pm
Wednesday: Swim session- Advanced 7-8pm, Intermediate/ Beginners 8-9pm
Thursday: TT Session will take place at 6:30pm. Starting at Foxhall
Saturday: Club cycle leaves from Aura at 8am
Saturday: Swim session- 6-7pm (please note prepayment does not cover the cost of Saturday sessions)
Full Results
24/7 Try a Tri
Shaun McDevitt          38:35 1st Male
Stephen Robinson      39:37 2nd Male
Michael Russell           39:42 3rd Male
Gerard McGettigan     43:43
Trevor Gordan            49:22
Patrick Kennedy         53:32
24/7 Super Sprint
Jason King                  42:54
Philip Browne              46:21
Alaistair Hetherington 46:22
Pol Mac GiollaBhride  46:35
Eadaoin Kelly              49:15 3rd Female
Shaun Logue               49:22
Louise Alcorn              49:44
Fionnuala Larkin         49:56
Niamh Gibbons           51:03
Claire Nelis                  51:06
Stephanie Dunleavy   51:14
Alicia Quigley              51:42
Emmet McClafferty    51:44
Rachael Stilvern         51:56
Desiree Casburn         52:13
Labhaoise Maguire     53:43
Denise McBride          56:01
Cathal McLaughlin      56:20            
Milford 5k
Peter O’Donnell          18:03
Anthony Sweeney      18:43
Ardraven 5k Buncrana
Adrian Callaghan        19:46