Letterkenny 247 Triathlon club notes : Voodoo Triathlon at Gartan


Gartan was the place to be last weekend for the club races where some of the top triathletes in the country took part. Conditions were wet but not unpleasant for racing. Two races took place, a sprint triathlon and an Olympic triathlon.

Olympic race

The club got a pleasant surprise when Bryan Mc Crystal the national Duathlon champion entered . Bryan is one of the top cyclists in the country as well as holding the Irish record for the Iron Man distance. He came out of the water in fourth place but then proceeded to have the fastest bike time by almost seven minutes. His overall time of 1.55.21 is the first sub two hour time in the two year history of the race and will be a formidable record to break .

First club man home was Gavin Crawford in fifth followed by Adam Speer and Peter O Donnell in 7th and 8th respectively

In the Women’s event Lisa Dalton was leading comfortably having put in a good swim and strong bike but an unfortunate mistake lead to a disqualification and Margaret Kelly continues her unbeaten record in the race improving five minutes on her time from last year.

Fin Begley was second female home narrowly beating Cheryl Cardwell of the triangle club from Limavady. Overall there were 71 participants and all acquitted themselves well in this demanding course.

Tri2 Tri3

Sprint race

The sprint race was dominated by the northern clubs in the men’s section with Rhodri Jones of Triangle beating Philip Castles of Tuna and Emmet Mc Mullen in third. First member home was Shane Mc Nulty in 14th place.

Similarly Anne paul of Triangle beat Emma Jo Mc Connelogue of North west with Kerry Mc Grillen of QUB tri in third. First woman member was Catherine Mc Kinley in 27th place.

The sprint race was the first venture into an open water swim race for a lot of members and they all acquitted themselves well and carried on their performance into Voodoo later on.

In all 95 competed and the club wishes to acknowledge Father Mc Keever for the use of the car park at Glendoan chapel.

The club are grateful to our sponsors Voodoo and Gartan outdoor pursuits centre for their continued involvement in the event.

Putting on a race involved a host of club volunteers ably marshalled by Liam Tinney , Adrian Wasson and Emma McGee. Also a special mention to Stephen Sweeney who acted as MC for the day.

The club entered a team in the inaugural club relay and our four members of Siobhan Gallagher , Niamh McDaid , Brendan Murphy and Danny Mooney acquitted themselves well finishing ninth in a very competitive field.

John Conaghan showing no side effects from his age group victory in the Iron man event in Galway won his category in the five k in Rathmullan Friday night running a time of 18.34 and Padraic mc Cafferty ran 18.08.

Please note the quarterly swim fee for July to the end of August is now due for all participants.




Training continues as follows

Monday: Gartan – Open Water Swim 6.30 pm (weather permitting)

Tuesday: Aura track – Track session 7.50 pm

Wednesday : Aura Pool – Swim session 8.00 pm

Thursday : Foxhall TT or Brick 6.30pm

Saturday : Aura club cycle 8.00 am

Sunday : Aura beginners cycle 9.00 am


Olympic race Gartan

1st Bryan Mc Crystal 1.55.21

2nd David Graham 1.59.05

3rd Lorcan Healy 2.04.03

5th Gavin Crawford 2.07.19

7th Adam Speer 2.10.18

8th Peter oDonnell 2.12.38

14 Jason King 2.21.51

19th David Harvey2.24.44

21st Pauric Kelly 2.27.19

26th Killian Nulty 2.30.24

29th Margaret Kelly 2.31.42

31st Eugene Mc Gettigan 2.33.11

33rd Johnathan Edwards 2.34.51

34th Fin Begley 2.35.16

37th Patrick Carr 2.37.23

38th Patrick Mc Nulty 2.37.23

39th Graham Parker 2.38.47

41st Brendan Meenan 2.40.06

42nd Bronagh Ogara 2.40.24

46th Clara Quigley 2.41.45

48th Paul Ogara 2.42.58

53rd Keith Fletcher 2.45.14

55th Patrick Patton 2.46.09

56th Seamus Morrison 2.47.36

59th Mairead Cullen 2.48.12

62nd Shane Collins 2.49.19

70th Paul Mc Nulty 3.17.53

Sprint race Gartan

14th Shane Mc Nulty 1.13.45

27th Catherine Mc Kinlay 1.17.18

29th Anne Robinson 1.18

34th Colm Corcoran 1.18.56

46th Kevin Hennessy 1.23.19

47th Laura Black 1.23.34

50 Katie Black 1.25

51st Cathy Harvey 1.25.05

53rd Martina Mc Daid 1.25.18

55th John Daly 1.25.41

56th Natasha Kelly 1.25.45

63rd Fiona Mc Daid 1.27.20

67th Stephanie Dunleavy 1.29.20

80th Claire Neilis 1.35.02

82nd Feena Mc Bride 1.35.54

83rd Rachel Stilvern 1.37.32

85th Sinead Trearty 1.40.08

86th Denise Mc Bride 1.41.00

90th Aibhe Dunne 1.44.17

91st Fiona Temple 1.44.20